Home / Events

Events.

Congratulations to all the teams who have successfully submitted their Memorandum for Respondent! 

As you are starting to prepare for the oral rounds, the MAA is delighted to share the next episode of the Vis Moot Journey Series, “Mastering the Art of Oral Advocacy”, which will take place on Saturday, February 11, 2023 at 8:00 (EST) / 13:00 (UTC) / 14:00 (CET) / 21:00 (HKT).

Our amazing panel consists of Ms. Kim Rooney, Mr. Shashi Dholandas, Mr. Siyuan Chen and Mr. Rob Warzel. All four panelists combined have insurmountable years of invaluable experience as arbitrators and coaches of extraordinarily successful teams. The webinar will be moderated by Mr. Augusto García Sanjur, who was an oral advocate in the Final Round of the last in-person Vis Vienna Moot in 2019. The panelists are eager to share their techniques, tactics, and strategies of oral advocacy, so don’t miss out on this great opportunity!

You can register for the webinar using the following link.

Further details can be found on the enclosed flyer.

For any queries, feel free to contact MAA at:  [email protected]

Below are the current details for the 20th Vis East Moot:

Saturday, 17 March 2023 from 9pm onwards: MAA Welcome Party at Tazmanian Ballroom. All MAA/Vis East participants will be offered VIP admission to one of Hong Kong’s hottest clubs and get Happy Hour prices on drinks all night long!

Sunday, 19 March 2023 from 9am onwards: 17th Annual Generations in Arbitration Conference to be held at Withersworldwide.

Sunday, 19 March 2023 – Friday, 24 March and again Sunday, 26 March 2023 from 9pm onwards: MAA Moot Bar will be at Baci in the heart of Lan Kwai Fong (the party district in Hong Kong). MAA/Vis East Participants who show their badge will be offered Happy Hour specials all evening long.

Wednesday, 22 March 2023 from 6pm-8pm: MAA Antique Open Deck Party Tram Tour, this event has limited spaces as the tram can only hold a certain number of people. For those lucky enough to register and pay in time, they will enjoy an evening touring Hong Kong Island on an antique tram where the tram will stop and drop off the participants right at the doorsteps of the Happy Valley Horseraces.

Wednesday, 22 March 2023 from 7pm onwards: Happy Valley Horseraces where MAA/Vis East participants can enjoy an evening of fun watching one of Hong Kong’s longest standing traditions of horse racing.

Saturday, 25 March 2023 from 4pm-10pm: Seafood Dinner at Lamma Island, this is an event organized by the Vis East Administration but participants won’t want to miss out on a traditional junk trip from Central to Lamma Island where they will have an evening of fun over a delicious and unique Hong Kong Seafood Dinner.

Saturday, 25 March 2023 from 10pm onwards: MAA Farewell Party at Dragon-i, one of Hong Kong’s oldest and hottest nightclubs. From 10pm until midnight, MAA/Vis East participants will be offered the nightclub exclusively. From 12 midnight onwards, MAA/Vis East participants will be offered VIP entry. Admission will be HK$ 150, which is inclusive of 2 drink tickets.

Below are the current details for the 30th Vis Vienna Moot:

Thursday, 30 March 2023 from 9pm onwards: MAA Welcome Party at the Sofiensaele. All MAA/Vis Vienna participants will finally have a chance, after 4 long years, to gather at one of the hottest locations in Vienna to kick off the 30th Vis Vienna week. Admission will cost EUR 10 per person, there will be drink specials all night, and the venue will be exclusive for Vis Vienna participants.

Friday, 31 March 2023 from 10am onwards: The MAA’s Annual International Commercial Law & Arbitration Conference, which combines the 20th Annual Generations in Arbitrations Conference and 14th Annual CISG Conference. This year we are once again sponsored by Zeiler Floyd Zadkovic and will have the honor of holding our conference at their new premises in Vienna.

Friday, 31 March 2023 – Tuesday, 4 April 2023 and again Thursday, 6 April 2023 from 9pm onwards: MAA Moot Bar will be at Aux Gazelles, which will reserve its space exclusively for Vis Vienna participants with drink specials all evening long.

Sunday, 2 April 2023 from 5pm onwards: MAA Walking Tour – Vienna at night. Once again the MAA has organized tour guides to take you through the beautiful streets of Vienna at night. There will be two options: a basic tour for those new to Vienna and an advanced tour for those who have been to Vienna before. The tour guides will drop participants off at the location where the MAA’s traditional Viennese dinner will be held! Spaces are limited as there are a limited number of tour guides so participation will be allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis for those who successfully register and pay.

Sunday, 2 April 2023 from 7pm onwards: MAA’s Traditional Viennese Dinner will be held at Bier und Bierli, which is located in city centre. Spaces are limited in the restaurant so attendance will be allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis for those who successfully register and pay.

Monday, 3 April and Tuesday, 4 April 2023: MAA UN Tour will take place. The MAA has arranged with the United Nations two UN Tours for MAA members/Vis Vienna participants to take part in. Spaces are limited AND details are required in advance for UN security so spaces will be allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis for those who successfully register, pay, and provide all of the necessary information.

Tuesday, 4 April from 7pm onwards: MAA Assembly to warm up the audience leading to the announcement of teams who made it to the elimination rounds will take place at the Vienna Centre. The MAA will be putting together a brilliant program to keep the teams and coaches occupied (to the extent possible obviously) while the Vis Vienna administration finalizes the scores from the General Rounds.

Wednesday, 5 April 2023 from 9pm onwards: MAA Farewell Party will take place at Passage, one of the hottest clubs in Vienna, located in the heart of city centre! Admission is EUR 10 and will grant MAA Members/Vis Vienna participants exclusive access to the nightclub where participants will gather together and let out all of the steam that’s built up all year long. There will be drink specials all evening long and the club has promised to stay open until 6am (though they doubt that we can party so long, little do they know…)

Dear Vis Mooties, 

Your are already halfway through the Vis Moot Season and the MAA wants to congratulate you by announcing our next Vis Moot Journey (VMJ) webinar that will help you navigate the 20th/30th Vis (East) Moot! 

On Saturday, January 7, 2023 at 11am UTC / 12pm CET / 7pm HKT / 6am EST / 10pm AEDT the VMJ webinar series returns with its third episode “How to Draft a Persuasive Memorandum for Respondent”.

Our fantastic panelists Ms. Dana MacGrath, Dr. Dalma Demeter, Dr. Joseph Schwartz and Ms. Wenny Huang, will share all their wisdom, experience and best practices in order to teach you how to best argue on behalf of Respondent.

You will also have the opportunity to ask any and all questions that you have always wanted to ask in a Q&A session, moderated by Ms. Aina Hannisa. 

With thanks to our sponsor, Withersworldwide, you can register for the Webinar through the following link / QR code (in the flyer)

Further details can be found on the enclosed flyer.

For any queries, feel free to contact MAA at:  [email protected]

Dear Vis Mooties,

The MAA congratulates all the teams for submitting the Claimant memorandum, and is thrilled to announce that the MAA’s Speaker Series continues in December, featuring the inimitable Dr. Pascal Hachem! A seasoned practitioner in the field of International Commercial Law, Dr. Hachem will cover the topic of “Remarks on the CISG’s Scope of Application“.

A Partner at Bär & Karrer in Zurich, Dr. Hachem is a widely cited authority on commercial law and CISG, having authored several books and articles in these fields, including his recent contribution to the 5th Edition of the critically acclaimed treatise – ‘Commentary on The UN Convention on The International Sale of Goods (CISG)’. 

The webinar is scheduled to take place on Saturday, December 17, 2022 at 8:00 UTC/ 9:00 CET/ 16:00 HKT

Dr. Hachem will also answer participants’ questions related to the CISG in the Q&A session towards the end of the webinar!

Ms. Mısra Yalçın from the MAA’s Conferences & Events Team, will moderate this webinar.

We invite all the Vis Mooties and those interested in commercial laws to sign-up for this webinar!

With thanks to our sponsor, Withersworldwide, you can register for the Webinar through the following link/QR code (in the flyer):

Further details can be found on the enclosed flyer.

For any queries, feel free to contact MAA at: [email protected]

MARK YOUR CALENDARS! MAA In-Person Events are back!


Professional networking opportunities and personal friendships that form during the Vis Moot Oral Arguments are some of the most important benefits of the Vis Moot Competitions. This is why the MAA is ecstatic to announce the return of MAA in-person events during the Vis East and Vis Vienna Oral Argument Weeks!

Before the launch of the 20th Vis East and 30th Vis Vienna Problem, we take this opportunity to draw your attention to the various in-person social and professional networking events in Hong Kong for the Vis East (from 18 to 26 March 2023) and Vienna (from 30 March to 6 April 2023). Make sure to be able to check off the many exciting items on your Vis East and Vis Vienna bucket lists – the legendary Moot Bar, the 20th and 30th Special Anniversary Events, Happy Valley Horse Races, UN Tours and much more.

Further details regarding the events will soon be available on the MAA Website and our social media channels.

You can choose to be a Premium MAA Member and have priority and discounted access to these events and much more! Register here.

Should you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us at [email protected] or any of our social media handles: FacebookLinkedInInstagramTwitter.

Moot Alumni Association 2022 AGM

Dear MAA Members,

According to 9(3) of the MAA Articles of Association, the MAA Executive Board cordially invites you to the Annual General Meeting of 2022 (“2022 AGM”).

In light of the current pandemic situation and given that both Vis East and Vis Vienna have gone virtual, you will see from our Notice that the 2022 AGM will be held online via zoom.

If you require dial-in options for a different country, please email us at: [email protected]

Please click in the following links to access the following documents:

  • Click [HERE] for the Minutes of the 2021 AGM;
  • Click [HERE] for the Notice for the 2022 AGM;
  • Click [HERE] for a Proxy form for Members who are unable to attend but wish to exercise their voting rights;
  • Click [HERE] for a GDPR compliant form for Members who wish to attend the AGM whether in person or by electronic means.

XVI Annual MAA Generations in Arbitration Conference

The Moot Alumni Association (MAA) is delighted to invite you to its XVI Annual MAA Generations in Arbitration Conference (GIA Conference), Hong Kong taking place virtually from 22 March 2022 to 25 March 2022.

The GIA Conference Hong Kong is a staple of the Vis East Moot and has been so for the last 15 years.

This year too, we have an incredible line-up of leading arbitration and commercial law practitioners, arbitrators, and academicians who will be sharing their views on varied topics over the 4 days. GIA Conference is generously sponsored by Withersworldwide and supported by ICC YAF.

This year’s conference will feature:

  • Fireside Chat with Professor Doug Jones AO, RFD on ‘Tribunal’s Power to Override an Agreement on Procedure‘ (for registration click here)
  •  Fireside Chat with Professor Dr. Ingeborg Schwenzer on ‘Exclusion of CISG‘. (for registration click here)
  • Panel-discussion on’ Scope and Significance of Law Governing Arbitration Agreement‘. (for registration click here)
  • Panel-discussion on ‘Formation of an Arbitration Agreement‘. (for registration click here)

As always, the GIA Conference is Free of Charge for the MAA Premium Members. However, in order to receive links for all the panels/fireside chats, you are still required to ‘register’ on the respective links contained in the flyers. 

For Standard MAA Members / Non-MAA Members, there is a one-time fee of 10 EUR for attending this conference. However, we would highly recommend that you consider becoming a Premium MAA Member for an Annual Fee of 20 EUR to gain free, priority, and exclusive access to all of our events such as this and much more.

Details on how to make the payment can be found below: 

Paypal payment to: [email protected];

Stripe payment to: [email protected];

Bank transfer to:

Bank Name: Bank Austria

Account Holder: Moot Alumni Association

IBAN: AT361200000601765506

SWIFT/BIC: BKAUATWW

Once we receive confirmation of either your Premium Membership Subscription or payment of the EUR 10 for the conference, we will update your registration accordingly.

You can also ‘Register’ for attending these Panels/Fireside Chats (by clicking on the links in the Flyer/above) and we will email you with details on how to proceed with the payment.

For any further queries, please email us at: [email protected].

Download PDF here.

Latin American Parties in Dispute in China: The Shanghai Arbitration Commission Experience

March 31, 2022, 10pm São Paulo time // April 1, 2022 Hong Kong time

Register here.

A Career in Arbitration: the Associate’s Perspective

Webinar, March 28, 2022, 5pm HKT

Register here.

The Clyde & CO Pub Qvis

Zoom, April 1, 2022, 4:30pm HKT

Register here.

M&A Disputes in an Uncertain World

March 23, 2022, 9:30am ET // 1:30pm LONDON // 2:30pm CET // 9:30pm HONG KONG

Register here.

MAA and CIArb Brazil Joint Program: The Art of Arbitrating at the Vis Moot

Webinar, March 14, 2022, 7pm BRT

Register here.

Arbitration Happy Hour: Vis Moot Special

Online networking session, March 24th at 7:00 PM CET on Clubhouse

Being * in Arbitration Webinar

Webinar, 24 March, 2021 at 8:00 AM EDT // 1:00 PM CET // 8:00 PM HKT

On March 24th, 2021 the ICDR Y&I and the MAA are partnering for a series of “Being * in Arbitration” conversations, dedicated to exploring issues of inclusion in all its forms (gender, race, sexual orientation, etc.) impacting underrepresented populations within the arbitration community.

Register here and see our flyer for more details.

 

2021 MAA Inaugural Speaker Series

Ann Ryan Robertson — 28 U.S.C §1782: The Moth to the Light 

Monday 29 March, 2021, 8:00 AM CDT / 3:00 PM CEST / 9:00 PM CST

We are proud to announce the third session of the MAA Inaugural Speaker Series where Ann Ryan Robertson will deliver a speech on the history of 28 U.S.C. §1782, its practical application and the current split of authority among the various appellate circuits. 

Register here.

 

Lukas Rusch — Joinder of Third Parties in International Arbitration – Recent Reforms and Developments 

Wednesday 24 February, 2021, 2:00 PM CET / 8:00 AM EST / 9:00 PM CST

We are pleased to announce that Lukas Rusch is the next speaker in our inaugural speaker series. Mr. Rusch will be speaking on the following topic: joinder of third parties in international arbitration. 

Register here.

 

Prof. Dr. Ingeborg Schwenzer — CISG: Benefits and Concerns 

Friday 5 February, 2021, 2:00 PM CET / 8:00 AM EST / 9:00 PM CST

We are proud to announce the second session of the MAA Inaugural Speaker Series where Prof. Dr. Ingeborg Schwenzer will deliver a speech on the benefits and concerns of the CISG on February 5th, 2021.

The event is free of charge for premium MAA members and only EUR 10 for the free MAA members and non-MAA members.

Register here.

 

Prof. Dr. Eckart Brödermann — UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, a Bridge over Troubled Waters 

Monday 18 January, 2021, 3:00 PM CET / 9:00 AM EST / 10:00 PM CST

We’re delighted to announce that the first speaker in this year’s MAA Inaugural Speaker series is Professor Dr. Eckart Brödermann. Professor Dr. Brödermann will be speaking the following topic: UNIDROIT Principles of Internaitonal Commercial Contracts, a Bridge over Troubled Waters: Both General Principles of Law and General Default Rules for International Commercial Contracts.

Register here.

XV Annual Generations in Arbitration Conference

Webinar Series 15-19 March, 2021

The XV Annual MAA Generations in Arbitration Conference is only 3 days away! From 15-19 March, 2021 join us for a series of varied speeches, panels, and debates. See the registration links below or check the following link to download the full schedule: 2021.03.12 FINAL GIA Program 

The full list of speakers’ bios can be found here: Speakers’ Bio_GIA HK_2021 (Final)

*Welcome & Keynote Speech*
17:00 HKT/ 05:00 EST/ 10:00 CET
15 March, 2021
Keynote Speech on Joinder, Efficiency, and the SCAI Rules
Dr. Christopher Boog (Schellenberg Wittmer & SCAI Court) introduced by Sabine Neuhaus (Kellerhals Carrard)

*Session 1*
https://lnkd.in/eXnQHZj
15:00 HKT/ 03:00 EST/ 08:00 CET
16 March, 2021
To Join or Not to Join:
Revisiting Joinder in International Arbitration

*Session 2*
https://lnkd.in/emP452C HKT/ 05:00 EST/ 10:00 CET
17 March, 2021
Do’s and Don’ts of Online Hearings: How to Succeed as Tribunal and Counsel

*Session 3*
https://lnkd.in/e2NPi7S
21:00 HKT/ 09:00 EST/ 14:00 CET
18 March, 2021
Behind the Scene: Arbitrating Pharmaceutical Disputes

*Session 4*
https://lnkd.in/et3FJRQ
13:00 HKT/ 01:00 EST/ 06:00 CET
19 March, 2021
CISG Article 42: ‘Who’s Claims are Claimed?’

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Updated: 8 March, 2021

Dear MAA Members,

According § 9(3) of the MAA Articles of Association, the MAA Executive Board cordially invites you to the Annual General Meeting of 2021 (“2021 AGM“).

In light of the current pandemic situation and given that both Vis East and Vis Vienna have gone virtual, you will see from our Notice that the 2021 AGM will be held online via zoom.

If you require dial-in options for a different country, please email us at: [email protected].

Please click in the following links to access the following documents:

  1. Click for the Minutes of the 2020 AGM;
  2. Click for the Call for the 2020 AGM;
  3. Click for a Proxy form for Members who are unable to attend but wish to exercise their voting rights;
  4. Click for a GDPR compliant form for Members who wish to attend the AGM whether in person or by electronic means.

Kind regards,

Sherlin Tung   Isabela Deveza    Sabine Neuhaus     Wendy Gonzalez
President         Vice-President     Vice-President       Secretary

Past Events

Past Events.

XIV Annual Generations in Arbitration Conference

Fangda Partners (Hong Kong)

Follow Us: